What I would like to see in the new iPhone 2,1.

Now I’m not usually one for hoping for a particular feature set in new apple hardware, but for some reason I feel that there are some things which are distinctly missing from the current iPhone.

The current iteration of apples phone, the iPhone 3G.

The current iteration of apples phone, the iPhone 3G.

The first thing that bugs me is the fact that the iPhone is tied to at&t over here in the US. I would love to upgrade from my current iPod touch + Nokia to a swanky iPhone 2,1 when they come out in late summer early autumn, however, at&t’s fees are just obscene! If you look at the cost of having an iPhone 3G in the UK and compare the deal you get there with the one here in the US, it makes you want to cry. First of all for the low price of 44.05GBP per month (which is about $64) you get a free iPhone 3G, 1200 free minutes, 500 free text, all the usual data stuff per month – and only an 18 months contract. This is not even their lowest tariff!!!! Why can’t at&t do a low cost tariff with no free minutes etc, and a higher cost phone. The problem I have is that I don’t really use the phone – I’m terribly phone-o-phobic, so I don’t make that many calls. all I want is the data plan. So, in which case, why can’t they charge me $40 a month for the data plan, and 50 cents per minute for calls – or something. The only other way around this problem is if apple opens up the new iPhone 2,1 to other carriers. If they do this, then there will be a price war to get iPhone users over to their network, and maybe some better tariffs. I live in Indiana, and I can tell you from experience that it’s hard enough to get a cell phone signal here, let alone a 3G signal. I’m sure there must be a method of tracking the time spent on 3G compared with edge etc. In which case, why can’t at&t offer a reduced data plan with limited time on 3G – if you go over that time then you get some additional charge?

Okay, my rant about tariffs out of the way. In terms of functionality – I love the social networking ability of the iPhone, Twitter, facebook, AIM. It would be great if apple would get iChat running on the iPhone 2,1. Specifically the ability to join into a video conference if your late to a meeting. I’m not specifically asking for a front facing camera for video chat (which would be nice – but would also probably kill bandwidth), but maybe audio only with the ability to see presentations and interact as if you were at you desktop / notebook. The next thing which would be nice is the ability to have speech recognition for dictating notes / email etc. Maybe as a core api which can then be linked into iChat / AIM style software.

With graphics power increasing, and the rumours of multicore etc for the iPhone 2,1 it would be great to have video out. Apple is really pushing the gaming power of the iPhone – so it would be great to be able to plug it into the tv and use the iPhone as a controller. I have seen some video of using the iPhone as a wii controller, so what about having games downloaded to the apple TV, and then pair the iPhone with it to be used as a controller?

Well there are a couple of my ideas – could be crazy or way out there – maybe they could actually work, we will see. 🙂

~ by The Quibble on March 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
